SWQ Touch would like to congratulate all of our players on their performances at the Junior State Champs held at the Glasshouse Mountains last weekend. Our 6 teams were once again very competitive with 5 of them (12 Girls, 12 Boys, 14 Girls, 14 Boys & 16 Boys) progressing to the semi-final stage and the 14 Boys making it all the way to the grand-final. Unfortunately, they were beaten 6 – 3 in the decider by North Qld. A great effort by our teams which meant SWQ finished 4th overall. 

Congratulations to Demi Ashurst who was named Player of the Series in the 12 Girls and to Emily Ward who was named Player of the Series in the 14 Girls. 

Qld Merit teams were picked in the 12 divisions and we congratulate the following players on their selection: 

12 Girls State Merit Team
Demi Ashurst, Molly McPherson, Tahlia Marshall, Courtney Middleton and Emma Schuh
12 Boys State Merit Team
Jay Schofield, Blaise Prendergast and Dylan Nobbs (Shadow)

 Congratulations to the following players who were selected in Qld squads for the 14s and 16s divisions:  

14 Girls
Emily Ward, Jada Ferguson and Karla Sankey
14 Boys
Kedan Chan-Tung, Sam Walker, Jordan du Toit, Torey Kirby and Dylan Fry
16 Girls
Zoe Webster
16 Boys
Tom Bannister 

SWQ Touch would like to thank all of our coaching staff for the time and effort they put in preparing their players for this event and a special thanks to our referees for giving up their time to officiate. Well done to Nicole Pedley and Nathan Nobbs who received a Level 3 upgrade at this tournament. 

For the full list of results from this event, please click on this link.